Italiano  English        


Christine Walevska

Saturday 14 July, 20:30, Teatro Foce, Lugano







Having already been a very welcome guest at the last edition of the LongLake Festival, the great American cellist Christine Walevska returns to the stage of the Festival for a special recital, accompanied by Andrea Carcano at the piano.

The program begins with Antonio Vivaldi’s (1678 – 1741) Fifth Sonata in E minor, followed by the Sonata Op. 99 in F major by Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897), thus completing the cycle of Brahms’ two Sonatas inaugurated last July. Dedicated to the German cellist Robert Hausmann, who was the protagonist of the first performance, the Sonata undoubtedly represents one of the greatest masterpieces of the cello and piano repertory.

Inspired by today’s date, July 14th, national French holiday (commemorating the storming of the Bastille, the first action of the Revolution of 1789), the second part of the program presents instead only French music. Christine’s marvelous cello, built by Carlo Bergonzi in Cremona in 1740, will give voice to the Sonata of Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918) composed in 1915 as the first of a series of six Sonatas for different instruments that Debussy did not complete, leaving only two other Sonatas, the one for flute, viola and harp, and the other for violin and piano (1917). The concert will close with Cesar Franck’s Sonata (1886), originally conceived for violin and piano, and transcribed for cello by the French cellist Jules Delsart with the composer’s approval.




A. Vivaldi
Sonata n. 5 in mi minore RV 40
Largo, Allegro, Largo, Allegro

J. Brahms
Sonata no. 2 op. 99 in F major
Allegro vivace
Adagio affettuoso
Allegro passionato
Allegro molto


C. Debussy
Sonate pour violoncelle et piano en ré mineur
Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto
Sérénade: Modérément animé
Final: Animé, léger et nerveux

M. Ravel
Pièce en forme de Habanera

C. Franck
Sonata in la maggiore (trascr. Jules Delsart)
Allegretto ben moderato
Ben moderato: Recitative-Fantasia
Allegretto poco mosso


Christine Walevska, violoncello
Andrea Carcano, pianoforte